The « Aiguille d’Or » goes to Audemars Piguet for the Royal Oak Selfwinding Perpetual Calendar Ultra-Thin watch


The winners



Watchmaking excellence was honoured this Thursday November 7th in Geneva at the 19th Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG) prize-giving ceremony, brilliantly hosted by actor Edouard Baer.

The GPHG's independent jury awarded 19 prizes and attributed the “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix to Audemars Piguet for the Royal Oak Selfwinding Perpetual Calendar Ultra-Thin watch.

The Bvlgari, Chanel, Chronométrie Ferdinand Berthoud, Genus, Hermès, Kudoke, MB&F, Ming, Seiko, Tudor, Urwerk, Vacheron Constantin et Voutilainen brands were also rewarded for their expertise and creativity.

The Special Jury Prize, which honours an influential actor in the watchmaking world, was bestowed on Luc Pettavino, Founder and Organiser of Only Watch.

On the eve of its 20th anniversary, the GPHG is announcing the upcoming creation of an academy of the profession. This major initiative, reflecting its unifying mission and supported by the City and Canton of Geneva, will constitute a vast network of ambassadors who will take part in the various stages of watch selection and contribute to the worldwide promotion of the watchmaking art. The academy will be operational in spring 2020.


“Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Audemars Piguet, Royal Oak Selfwinding Perpetual Calendar Ultra-Thin

Ladies’ Watch Prize: Chanel, J12 Calibre 12.1

Ladies’ Complication Watch Prize: MB&F, Legacy Machine FlyingT

Men’s Watch Prize: Voutilainen, 28ti

Men’s Complication Watch Prize: Audemars Piguet, Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet Minute Repeater Supersonnerie

Iconic Watch Prize: Audemars Piguet, Royal Oak "Jumbo" Extra-thin

Chronometry Watch Prize: Chronométrie Ferdinand Berthoud, Carburised steel regulator

Calendar and Astronomy Watch Prize: Hermès, Arceau L'heure de la lune

Mechanical Exception Watch Prize: Genus, GNS1.2

Chronograph Watch Prize: Bvlgari, Octo Finissimo Chronograph GMT Automatic

Diver’s Watch Prize: Seiko, Prospex LX line diver's

Jewellery Watch Prize: Bvlgari, Serpenti Misteriosi Romani

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Voutilainen, Starry Night Vine

“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Kudoke, Kudoke 2

Challenge Watch Prize: Tudor, Black Bay P01

Innovation Prize: Vacheron Constantin, Traditionnelle Twin Beat perpetual calendar

Audacity Prize: Urwerk, AMC

“Horological Revelation” Prize: Ming, 17.06 Copper

Special Jury Prize: Luc Pettavino, Founder and Organiser of Only Watch

Videos and images of the 2019 Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève prize-winning ceremony are available at https://mediacenter.gphg.org/

The pre-selected watches, including the 18 prize-winners, are on display at the Geneva Musée d'Art et d’Histoire (MAH) until November 14th 2019.

Press Contact :
Aude Campanelli
+41 (0)78 637 16 91