Watch Pro - Winners of the 2016 Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève revealed


Winners of the 2016 Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG) were announced last week, with the top price, the Aiguiile d’Or, presented to Ferdinand Berthoud for its Chronomètre Ferdinand Berthoud FB 1 model.

The competition considers itself to be the greatest authority on global watchmaking, with judging conducted by a revered panel of 27 experts. In a difficult year for the Swiss watchmaking industry, over 1300 guests gathered for the awards ceremony in Geneva, which was also broadcast live around the world.

The 2016 Prize Winners were:

“Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Ferdinand Berthoud, Chronomètre Ferdinand Berthoud FB 1

Ladies’ Watch Prize: Piaget, Limelight Gala Milanese Bracelet

Ladies’ High-Mech Prize: Girard-Perregaux, Cat's Eye Tourbillon with Gold Bridge

Men’s Watch Prize: Grönefeld, 1941 Remontoire

Chronograph Watch Prize: Montblanc, 1858 Chronograph Tachymeter Limited Edition

Tourbillon Watch Prize: Girard-Perregaux, La Esmeralda Tourbillon

Calendar Watch Prize: MB&F, Legacy Machine Perpetual

Travel Time Watch Prize: Fabergé, Fabergé Visionnaire DTZ

Mechanical Exception Prize: Audemars Piguet, Royal Oak Concept Supersonnerie

“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Tudor, Heritage Black Bay Bronze

Sports Watch Prize: Eberhard & Co, Scafograf 300

Jewellery Watch Prize: Chanel, Secret Watch "Signature Grenat"

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Piaget, Protocole XXL "Secrets & Lights" Venice Micro-Mosaic

“Revival” Watch Prize: TAG Heuer, Heuer Monza Chronographe

Special Jury Prize: The George Daniels Educational Trust

Watch Pro